So When Did I Marry This Creature?

Contributed by “The Ed”

The Nanny CreatureFrom the title, you, the reader, probably think I am having marital problems.  In a matter of speaking, I have to say that I am.  As with so many other marriages the problems are related to money.  But the marriage I speak of is not with my wife.  It is with the nanny government.

 (photo credit)

.

Government is like an ersatz spouse – an inferior substitute, like saccharin.  No, you can’t snuggle up to government like you can your significant other.   You can’t go for walks with government.  You can’t talk to government.  There is no intimacy of any kind.  Nevertheless, at least from a fiscal standpoint, government is like a spouse.  Just like some are dependent on their spouses, some people are dependent on government.  But I have a job and pay taxes.  Therefore, the government is dependent on me.

Think about this.  I have access to my wallet.  My wife has access to my wallet.  With Social Security, Medicare, and income taxes, my ersatz spouse has access to my wallet too, taking away about 1/3 of my paycheck each time.  What is really bad is that my ersatz spouse spends as much money as desired on whatever she wants and ultimately I am responsible to pay for it.  So, when did I marry this creature?

It really does not matter which party is in charge.  If the Democrats are in charge the conversation goes like this.  “Oh honey, there are so many things I need to do and I can’t say no to any of them.  You have to give me more money.  But I need even more than you can give me.  With the credit card I can solve anything.”

On the other hand if the Republicans are in charge the conversation goes like this.  “Oh honey, I know that you really don’t have the money for all the things that I have to do.  You need the money for your business so I won’t ask you for it.  But don’t worry, I can keep things up and take on the new challenges with the credit card.”  My ersatz spouse is quick to use the credit card no matter which face she puts on.

We had a prenuptial agreement (the Constitution) which stipulated just what my ersatz spouse is allowed to control.  My ersatz spouse is big on the prenuptial agreement when it suits her and brazen when it does not suit her.  (Please note that I call my ersatz spouse “her” only because I am male. You ladies should feel free to call your ersatz spouses “him.”  I won’t be offended.)

The clause in the prenuptial agreement that my ersatz is biggest on is Article 1, Section 8, “The Congress shall have Power …  To borrow money on the credit of the United States.”  I would curse the lawyers who wrote that but I know better.  They really did try to keep the nanny creature under control with the Who Needs the Debt Ceilingagreement.  But right now she is finding the checks and balances are interfering with her addiction to borrow money.  President Obama wants to be able to borrow money without having to worry about the troublesome debt ceiling.

(photo credit)

My ersatz spouse has learned to exploit three clauses that were not written as clearly as the rest of the prenuptial agreement.  The first is the Commerce Clause which gives Congress the power “to regulate commerce with foreign nations, and among the several states, and with the Indian tribes.”   Note that word, “regulate”.  That word has allowed Congress to establish regulatory agencies run by the executive branch.  The prenuptial authors figured that the Pennsylvania Avenue rivalry would assure the lawmakers hold the executive in check.  One way the nanny creature has found to exploit the commerce clause has been to motivate Congress to give away its power to the regulators.   

The second clause of the prenuptial my ersatz spouse likes to espouse is the General Welfare Clause.  This clause has allowed the nanny creature to spend money wherever she wants.  And boy does she WANT.  This, more than any other exploitation, has allowed her to pick the winners and losers.  If you ever have to deal with her you had better be her friend.  I am just one of her ersatz spouses.  That does not qualify me as her friend.  By definition, that makes me one of the losers.

The third prenuptial clause that the nanny creature likes to shout about is nicknamed the elastic clause.  This is the Necessary and Proper Clause – the godparent of this blog site.  “To make all Laws which shall be necessary and proper for carrying into Execution the foregoing Powers, and all other Powers vested by this Constitution in the Government of the United States, or in any Department or Officer thereof.”

I have been amazed at the license that is taken with these three prenuptial clauses.  My ersatz spouse has used them to do whatever she wants to do, and this does not lead us in a good direction.

Abuse of Constitutional Clauses Leads to National Bankruptcy

(photo credit)

I won’t divorce her.  That only means marrying another with similar ideas.  Somehow we (she is actually married to all of us) have to return the prenuptial clauses to what they originally meant.

About Necessary and Proper

Jeff believes in the Individual's ability to excel when liberty and freedom of choice are protected. Also believes in the Community's ability to take care of the vast majority of its own issues and needs when the federal government leaves the Community's resources and sphere of control alone. State and local choice produce better results than centralized federal control. https://necessaryandpropergovt.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Contributed by 'The Ed', Politics in Jest, Theory of Gov't and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So When Did I Marry This Creature?

Chime in! Leave Jeff a comment...

